LMOPS is divided into four research groups devoted to Functional Materials, Photonics, Spectrometry of complex heterogeneous materials and Photovoltaics. It also has a running chair program (Chair in Photonics) and two experimental platforms dedicated to spectroscopy and electrical measurements.

Functional Materials research team

This research team focuses on the manufacture of functional materials, in particular for optics and optoelectronics, and nano-composite polymers and their behaviour in fire.

Photonics research team

Its research is dedicated to optics in general and non-linear optics in particular, and it hosts the Photonics Chair.

Spectrometry of Complex Heterogeneous Materials Team

This team studies perturbations and disruptions of order in various media (crystals, polymers, solutions) using Raman spectrometry.

Photovoltaic Materials, Components and Systems team

The Photovoltaic Materials, Components and Systems (MCS-PV) team studies and optimises devices and systems for the production of photovoltaic energy.





    Institut Jean Lamour (IJL), Laboratoire d’Etude des Microstructures et de la Mécanique des Matériaux (LEM3), Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique - Approche Multi-échelle des Milieux Complexes (LCP-A2MC), Laboratoire de Cristallographie, Résonance Magnétique et Modélisations (CRM2), UMI2958 Georgia-Tech-CNRS, Institut Lafayette, Laboratoire de Nanotechnologies et d’Instrumentation Optique (LNIO), Université du Luxembourg, Ecole des Mines d’Alès, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, Universités de Bruxelles, Institute for Color Science and Technology (Tehran, Iran). Université de Padoue (Italie), Osbnabrück, Institute for Physical Research (Yerevan, Arménie), Université de l’Oural (Russie), Université de Tlemcen (Algérie), ICube, Laboratoire Charles Coulomb, Laboratoire de Physique des Lasers, Institut des Nanotechnologies de Lyon...



    • AIRBUS,
    • ARKEMA,
    • Cristal Laser,
    • EDF,
    • GDI Simulations,
    • Institut de Soudure,
    • M-Optics,
    • Pôle Matéralia,
    •  SAFRAN,
    • TOTAL.

    KEY FIGURES 2022

    • Faculty members and researchers: 22
    • PhD students: 12
    • Engineers, technicians and administrative staff: 6
    • Publications (Source Web of science): 72

    More information

    Visit the laboratory website

    Download the 2022 laboratory report HERE


    Director: Thierry Aubert
    E-mail: thierry.auber[at]univ-lorraine.fr

    Latest submissions

    Article in a review
    InGaN based Schottky barrier solar cell: Study of the temperature dependence of electrical characteristics
    Ahmad Sauffi Yusof, Sidi Ould Saad Hamady, Zainuriah Hassan, Mohd Anas Ahmad, Sha Shiong Ng, Way Foong Lim
    Article in a review
    Article in a review
    Two‐Step Polyelectrolyte Complex Coating for Flame Retardant Flax
    Danixa Rodriguez‐melendez, Dallin L Smith, Sarah G Fisher, Rodolphe Sonnier, Henri Vahabi, Jaime C Grunlan
    Article in a review
    Impact of Cavity Geometry on Microlaser Dynamics
    Kyungduk Kim, Stefan Bittner, Yuhao Jin, Yongquan Zeng, Qi Jie Wang, Hui Cao
    Browse all laboratory submissions on HAL